Individual Savings Accounts (ISAs)

You can save tax-free with Individual Savings Accounts (ISAs). 

There are 4 types of ISA: 

You can put money into one of each kind of ISA each tax year.  

Who Can Open an ISA  

You must be: 

  • 16 or over for a cash ISA 
  • 18 or over for a stocks and shares or innovative finance ISA 
  • 18 or over but under 40 for a Lifetime ISA 
  • resident in the UK 
  • a Crown servant (for example diplomatic or overseas civil service) or their spouse or civil partner if you do not live in the UK (external link) 

You cannot hold an ISA with or on behalf of someone else.  

You can get a Junior ISA for children under 18. 

See Also: 

For further information: