MEMBERSHIP OF COMMITTEES AND SUB-COMMITTEES (INCLUDING SUBSTITUTES) AND OTHER MEMBER BODIES 2015/16

To: Annual Council

Date: 28 May 2015

Author: Principal Democratic Services Officer

[Q3]

1.0 ISSUE

1.1 To consider the appointment of Members and substitutes to Committees, Sub-Committees and to other Member bodies for 2015/16.

2.0 RECOMMENDATION(S)

- 2.1 That Mr Raith Overhill be re-appointed as the Independent Person and Mrs Sue Booth as the Deputy Independent Person to assist with Code of Conduct complaints against Councillors in accordance with the requirements of the Standards regime under the provisions of the Localism Act 2011.
- 2.2 That the following appointments of Parish Councillor Members on the Corporate Governance and Finance Hearings Sub-Committee be continued for 2015/16:

Parish Council Members:

Rosemary Aitchison (Soham TC) Tim Owen (Dullingham PC)

2.3 That Council approves the membership of Committees, Sub-Committees and other Member bodies for 2015/16 as set out at Appendix 1.

3.0 BACKGROUND

- 3.1 A list of Committees, Sub-Committees and other Member bodies for 2015/16 is set out in Appendix 1.
- 3.2 Group Leaders have been advised of the number of places available to be filled by their respective Groups on each body under the rules relating to proportionality (see also Agenda Item 14). Details of the proposed membership of these Committees, Sub-Committees and other Member bodies for 2015/16 are attached at Appendix 1.

- 4.0 <u>STANDARDS REGIME LOCALISM ACT 2011 INDEPENDENT PERSON/DEPUTY INDEPENDENT PERSON & PARISH COUNCIL MEMBERS</u>
- 4.1 At the Council meeting on 26 July 2012, Council approved the adoption of a new Code of Conduct for Members and a new Members complaints procedure to meet the requirements of the revised Standards Regime to be implemented in accordance with the provisions of the Localism Act 2011. These resolutions included the establishment of a Finance and Governance Hearings Sub-Committee, based on a membership of 7. They also included the appointment of an Independent Person and Deputy Independent Person to assist with Code of Conduct complaints under the provisions of the Localism Act 2011, and appointment of 2 non-voting Co-opted Town/Parish Council Members to serve on the Finance and Governance Hearings Sub-Committee/Hearings Panels in accordance with the Terms of Reference for those bodies approved by the Council. The Independent Person and Deputy Independent Person and 2 non-voting Co-opted Town/Parish Council Members were subsequently appointed (with terms of office to 2015 to coincide with the term of office for District Councillors) as follows:

Independent Person – Mr Raith Overhill Deputy Independent Person – Mrs Sue Booth

Co-opted Town/Parish Council Members Cllr Rosemary Aitchison (Soham TC) Cllr Tim Owen (Dullingham PC)

4.2 As a result of the Committee re-structuring in 2014, the Finance and Governance Hearings Sub-Committee became the Corporate Governance and Finance Hearings Sub-Committee with a continued membership of 7. Since the requirements of the Standards Regime are ongoing, there is still a need to appoint an Independent Person and Deputy Independent Person, together with Co-opted Town/Parish Council Members. The Monitoring Officer has approached the existing postholders and they have expressed a willingness to continue in these roles. Therefore, the Monitoring Officer is recommending that they be re-appointed for another term of office to coincide with the term of office for District Councillors.

5.0 APPENDICES

5.1 Appendix 1 - List of Membership of Committees, Sub-Committees and other Member bodies for 2015/16.

Background Documents	Location	Contact Officer
ECDC Constitution	Room 214B	Tracy Couper
	The Grange	Principal Democratic Services
	Ely	Officer
	-	(01353) 665555
		È-mail:
		tracy.couper@eastcambs.gov.uk

COMMITTEES, SUB-COMMITTEES AND OTHER MEMBER BODIES 2015/16

CORPORATE GOVERNANCE	REGULATORY AND SUPPORT	ASSET DEVELOPMENT
AND FINANCE COMMITTEE (11)	SERVICES COMMITTEE (11)	COMMITTEE (7)
9:1:1 and up to 2 Subs	10:1 and up to 2 Subs	6:1 and up to 2 Subs
CONSERVATIVE	CONSERVATIVE	CONSERVATIVE
David Ambrose-Smith	Christine Ambrose-Smith	David Chaplin
Ian Bovingdon	David Ambrose-Smith	Steve Cheetham
David Brown	Anna Bailey	Bill Hunt
Peter Cresswell	Mike Bradley	Dan Schumann
Lis Every		Mathew Shuter
Coralie Green	Peter Cresswell	Lisa Stubbs
Chris Morris	Julia Huffer	
Hamish Ross	Hamish Ross	
Stuart Smith	Carol Sennitt	
	Jo Webber	
Substitutes:	Substitutes:	Substitutes:
LIB DEM	LIB DEM	LIB DEM
Lorna Dupré	Sue Austen	Lorna Dupré
Substitutes:	Substitutes:	Substitutes:
Sue Austen	Lorna Dupré	Sue Austen
INDEDENDENT	INDEDENDENT	INDEDENDENT
	INDEPENDENT	INDEPENDENT
Domest Bookott	Substitutes:	Substitutes:
Substitutes:	<u> </u>	<u>oazottatoo.</u>
	AND FINANCE COMMITTEE (11) 9:1:1 and up to 2 Subs CONSERVATIVE David Ambrose-Smith lan Bovingdon David Brown Peter Cresswell Lis Every Coralie Green Chris Morris Hamish Ross Stuart Smith Substitutes: LIB DEM Lorna Dupré Substitutes:	AND FINANCE COMMITTEE (11) 9:1:1 and up to 2 Subs CONSERVATIVE David Ambrose-Smith Ian Bovingdon David Brown Peter Cresswell Lis Every Coralie Green Chris Morris Hamish Ross Stuart Smith Lorna Dupré LIB DEM Lorna Dupré LIB DEM Lorna Dupré LIB DEM Lorna Dupré LIB DEN Substitutes: Lorna Dupré LIB DEN Lorna Dupré LIB DEN Substitutes: Substitutes:

COMMITTEES, SUB-COMMITTEES AND OTHER MEMBER BODIES 2015/16

PLANNING COMMITTEE (11)	LICENSING COMMITTEE (11)	CORPORATE GOVERNANCE AND F	INANCE HEARINGS SUB-	
9:1:1 and up to 2 Subs	10:1 and no subs	COMMITTEE (7)		
		5:1:1		
		2 Independent Persons 2 Co-opted	Town/Parish Councillor Members	
CONSERVATIVE	CONSERVATIVE	CONSERVATIVE		
lan Bovingdon	Christine Ambrose Smith	Anna Bailey		
David Chaplin	Mike Bradley	Mike Bradley		
Paul Cox	Vince Campbell	Julia Huffer		
Lavinia Edwards	Paul Cox	Andy Pearson		
Neil Hitchin	Elaine Griffin-Singh	Mathew Shuter		
Tom Hunt	Neil Hitchin			
Mike Rouse	Julia Huffer			
Josh Schumann	Chris Morris			
Lisa Stubbs	Mike Rouse			
	Carol Sennitt			
Substitutes:	Substitutes:			
	none			
LIB DEM	LIB DEM	LIB DEM		
Sue Austen	Sue Austen	Lorna Dupré		
Substitutes:	Substitutes:			
Lorna Dupré	none			
INDEPENDENT	INDEPENDENT	INDEPENDENT		
Derrick Beckett		Derrick Beckett		
Substitutes:	Substitutes:			
none				
		Independent Persons:	Co-opted Town/Parish Councillor	
		Raith Overhill (Lead)	Members:	
		Sue Booth (Deputy)	Cllr Rosemary Aitchison (Soham TC)	
			Cllr Tim Owen (Dullingham PC)	

COMMITTEES, SUB-COMMITTEES AND OTHER MEMBER BODIES 2015/16

PERSONNEL APPEALS SUB-	ANGLIAN REVENUES	
COMMITTEE (3)	PARTNERSHIP JOINT	
2:1	COMMITTEE	
	(2)	
	2:0 and 2 Subs	
CONSERVATIVE	CONSERVATIVE	
Peter Cresswell	David Ambrose Smith	
Hamish Ross	Lis Every	
	Substitutes:	
LIB DEM	LIB DEM	
Sue Austen	None	
	Substitutes:	
INDEPENDENT	INDEPENDENT	
	None	
	Substitutes:	
	Substitutes.	