

#### CORPORATE GOVERNANCE AND FINANCE COMMITTEE

Minutes of the meeting of the Corporate Governance and Finance Committee held in the Council Chamber, The Grange, Nutholt Lane, Ely on Thursday, 26 May 2016 at 6.26pm.

# **PRESENT**

Councillor David Ambrose Smith

Councillor Ian Bovingdon

Councillor David Brown

Councillor Peter Cresswell

Councillor Lorna Dupré

Councillor Lis Every

Councillor Coralie Green

Councillor Chris Morris

Councillor Hamish Ross

Councillor Stuart Smith

#### **APOLOGIES**

Councillor Derrick Beckett

#### **OFFICERS**

John Hill – Chief Executive

Maggie Camp - Legal Services Manager and Monitoring Officer

Jo Brooks - Director Operations

Emma Grima – Director Commercial

Andy Radford – Director Resources

Tracy Couper – Democratic Services Manager

#### 1. **ELECTION OF CHAIRMAN**

Councillor David Brown was nominated and duly seconded. There being no other nominations:

It was resolved:

That Councillor David Brown be elected as Chairman of the Corporate Governance and Finance Committee for the ensuing municipal year.

#### 2. **APPOINTMENT OF VICE-CHAIRMAN**

Councillor David Ambrose-Smith was nominated and duly seconded. There being no other nominations:

It was resolved:

That Councillor David Ambrose-Smith be appointed as Vice-Chairman of the Corporate Governance and Finance Committee for the ensuing municipal year.

# 3. <u>CORPORATE GOVERNANCE AND FINANCE HEARINGS SUB-COMMITTEE</u>

The Democratic Services Manager reported that one of the Co-opted Town/Parish Council Members of the Corporate Governance and Finance Hearings Sub-Committee, Dullingham Parish Councillor Tim Owen, had resigned from the Parish Council meaning that he was no longer eligible to serve as a Co-opted Member of the Sub-Committee. Therefore, a vacancy would exist until an alternative Co-opted Member could be recruited.

It was resolved:

That the following Members be appointed to the Corporate Governance and Finance Hearings Sub-Committee for 2016/17:

# **Conservative Members (5)**

Councillor Anna Bailey Councillor Mike Bradley Councillor Julia Huffer Councillor Andy Pearson Councillor Mathew Shuter

# **Liberal Democrat Member (1)**

Councillor Lorna Dupré

#### **Independent (unaligned Member) (1)**

Councillor Derrick Beckett

#### **Independent Persons**

Independent Person – Mr Raith Overhill Deputy Independent Person – Mrs Sue Booth

#### **Co-opted Town/Parish Council Members**

Cllr Rosemary Aitchison (Soham TC) Vacancy

# 4. COMMUNITY INFRASTRUCTURE LEVY (CIL)/TRANSPORT STRATEGY EAST CAMBRIDGESHIRE (TSEC) JOINT ECDC/CCC MEMBER STEERING GROUP

It was resolved:

That the following 3 District Council Members be appointed to the Joint Member Steering Group for 2016/17:

# **Conservative Members (3)**

Councillor James Palmer Councillor Andy Pearson Councillor Mike Rouse

# 5. SOHAM RAILWAY STATION JOINT ECDC/CCC PROJECT GROUP

It was resolved:

That the following 3 District Council Members be appointed to the Joint Project Group for 2016/17:

# **Conservative Members (3)**

Councillor Ian Bovingdon Councillor Hamish Ross Councillor Carol Sennitt

# 6. APPOINTMENT OF MEMBER SERVICE DELIVERY CHAMPIONS

It was resolved:

That Member Service Delivery Champions be appointed for 2016/17 to the following Service areas:

Democratic Services – Councillor Stuart Smith
Economic Development – Councillor Steve Cheetham
Financial Services – Councillors Chris Morris and Alan Sharp
Infrastructure – Councillor Ian Bovingdon
Strategic Housing – Councillor Mathew Shuter
Strategic Planning – Councillors Coralie Green and Alan Sharp

| The meeting concluded at 6.29pm. |
|----------------------------------|
|                                  |
| Chairman                         |
| Date                             |