

Minutes of a Meeting of the Finance & Assets Committee held at The Grange, Nutholt Lane, Ely, CB7 4EE at 7:15pm on Thursday 25th May 2023

PRESENT

Cllr Ian Bovingdon

Cllr Lorna Dupré

Cllr Mark Goldsack

Cllr Bill Hunt

Cllr James Lay

Cllr David Miller

Cllr Robert Pitt

Cllr Alan Sharp

Cllr Caroline Shepherd

Cllr John Trapp

Cllr Alison Whelan

OFFICERS

John Hill - Chief Executive

Sally Bonnett – Director Community

Maggie Camp – Director Legal Services

Isabel Edgar – Director Operations

Emma Grima - Director Commercial

Ian Smith - Director Finance

Tracy Couper – Democratic Services Manager

Caroline Evans – Senior Democratic Services Officer

1. TO ELECT A CHAIRMAN FOR THE ENSUING MUNICIPAL YEAR

Cllr Alan Sharp was nominated as the Committee Chairman by Cllr Ian Bovingdon and seconded by Cllr Mark Goldsack.

There being no other nominations, it was resolved:

That Cllr Alan Sharp be elected as Chairman of the Finance & Assets Committee for the municipal year 2023/24.

2. TO ELECT A VICE-CHAIRMAN FOR THE ENSUING MUNICIPAL YEAR

Cllr Ian Bovingdon was nominated as the Committee Vice-Chairman by Cllr Alan Sharp and seconded by Cllr Mark Goldsack.

There being no other nominations, it was resolved:

That Cllr Ian Bovingdon be elected as Vice-Chairman of the Finance & Assets Committee for the municipal year 2023/24.

3. FINANCE & ASSETS (ETHICAL GOVERNANCE) SUB-COMMITTEE

The Chairman drew Members' attention to the proposed appointments to the Finance & Assets (Ethical Governance) Sub-Committee, as detailed in the agenda papers, and provided the names of the Conservative substitutes. Cllr Dupré stated that the Liberal Democrat substitutes would be added in due course.

It was resolved:

That the following appointments be made to the Finance & Assets (Ethical Governance) Sub-Committee for 2022/23:

Conservative Members (4) and substitutes

Cllr Ian Bovingdon

Cllr Bill Hunt

Cllr James Lay

Cllr Alan Sharp

Cllr Anna Bailey (substitute)

Cllr Mark Goldsack (substitute)

Cllr David Miller (substitute)

Liberal Democrat Members (3) and substitutes

Cllr Charlotte Cane

Cllr Alison Whelan

Cllr Christine Whelan

tbc (substitute)

tbc (substitute)

tbc (substitute)

Independent Persons

Gillian Holmes

Stuart Webster

Co-opted Town/Parish Council Members

Cllr Rosemary Aitchison (Soham Town Council)

Vacancy

4. PERSONNEL APPEALS SUB-COMMITTEE

The Chairman drew Members' attention to the proposed appointments to the Personnel Appeals Sub-Committee, as detailed in the agenda papers.

It was resolved:

That the following appointments be made to the Personnel Appeals Sub-Committee for 2022/23:

Conservative Members (2) Cllr lan Bovingdon Cllr Alan Sharp

<u>Liberal Democrat Member (1)</u> Cllr Caroline Shepherd

5. EAST CAMBRIDGESHIRE BUS, CYCLE, WALK WORKING PARTY

The Chairman drew Members' attention to the proposed Liberal Democrat appointments to the Bus, Cycle, Walk Working Party, as detailed in the agenda papers, and provided the names of the Conservative proposals.

It was resolved:

That the following appointments be made to the Bus, Cycle, Walk Working Party for 2022/23:

Conservative Members (3) Cllr Ian Bovingdon Cllr Mark Goldsack Cllr Alan Sharp

Liberal Democrat Members (3) Cllr Christine Colbert Cllr Lorna Dupré Cllr Caroline Shepherd

6. APPOINTMENT TO THE LOCAL GOVERNMENT ASSOCIATION (LGA)

The Chairman proposed, and the Vice-Chairman seconded, that Cllr Julia Huffer be appointed as the Council's representative to serve on the Local Government Association (LGA).

It was resolved:

That Cllr Julia Huffer be appointed as the Council's representative to icipal year

	serve on the Local Government Association (LGA) for the mun 2023/24.
The meeting	g concluded at 7:20pm.
Chairman	
Date	