

EAST CAMBRIDGESHIRE DISTRICT COUNCIL Minutes of a meeting of the Licensing Committee facilitated via the Zoom Video Conferencing System at The Grange, Nutholt Lane, Ely on Thursday, 21st May 2020, at 8.22pm.

PRESENT

Cllr David Ambrose Smith

Cllr Sue Austen

Cllr Lavinia Edwards

Cllr Simon Harries

Cllr Julia Huffer

Cllr Mark Inskip

Cllr Alec Jones

Cllr Alan Sharp

Cllr Jo Webber

Cllr Gareth Wilson

OFFICERS

John Hill - Chief Executive

Maggie Camp – Legal Services Manager and Monitoring

Officer

Jo Brooks - Director Operations

Emma Grima – Director Commercial

Adrian Scaites-Stokes - Democratic Services Officer

1. **ELECTION OF CHAIRMAN**

Councillor Julia Huffer was duly nominated. There being no other nominations:

It was resolved:

That Councillor Julia Huffer be elected as Chairman of the Licensing Committee for the ensuing municipal year.

2. **APPOINTMENT OF VICE-CHAIRMAN**

Councillor Alan Sharp was duly nominated. Councillor Alec Jones was also duly nominated. When put to the vote, the votes were equal. The Chairman then used their casting vote and:

It was resolved:

That Councillor Alan Sharp be appointed as Vice-Chairman of the Licensing Committee for the ensuing municipal year.

3. LICENSING SUB-COMMITTEE (STATUTORY)

It was resolved:

That the following Members be appointed to the Licensing (Statutory) Sub-Committee for the ensuing municipal year:

Conservative Group: Councillors Lavinia Edwards and Alan Sharp, with Councillors Julia Huffer and Jo Webber as Substitutes; Liberal Democrat Group: Councillor Simon Harries with Councillor John Trapp as a Substitute

4. <u>LICENSING SUB-COMMITTEE (NON-STATUTORY)</u>

It was resolved:

That the following Members be appointed to the Licensing (Non-Statutory) Sub-Committee for the ensuing municipal year:

Conservative Group: Councillors Lavinia Edwards, Julia Huffer and Alan Sharp;

Liberal Democrat Group: Councillors Alec Jones and Gareth Wilson

The meeting closed at 8:26pm.