AGENDA ITEM 3(b)



EAST CAMBRIDGESHIRE DISTRICT COUNCIL Minutes of a meeting of the Licensing Committee held at 7:20pm on Thursday 19th May 2022 in the Council Chamber at The Grange, Nutholt Lane, Ely, CB7 4EE

PRESENT

Cllr Christine Ambrose Smith Cllr David Ambrose Smith Cllr Sue Austen Cllr Lavinia Edwards Cllr Simon Harries Cllr Julia Huffer Cllr Mark Inskip Cllr Alec Jones Cllr Alan Sharp Cllr Jo Webber Cllr Gareth Wilson

OFFICERS

John Hill – Chief Executive Emma Grima – Director Commercial Sally Bonnett – Corporate Unit Manager Maggie Camp – Legal Services Manager Ian Smith – Finance Manager Tracy Couper – Democratic Services Manager Caroline Evans – Democratic Services Officer Annalise Lister – Communications Manager Angela Tyrrell – Senior Legal Assistant Karen Wright – ICT Manager

1. ELECTION OF CHAIRMAN

Cllr Julia Huffer was nominated as the Committee Chairman by Cllr David Ambrose Smith and seconded by Cllr Lavinia Edwards.

There being no other nominations, it was resolved:

That Cllr Julia Huffer be elected as Chairman of the Licensing Committee for the municipal year 2022/23.

2. ELECTION OF VICE-CHAIRMAN

Cllr Jo Webber was nominated as the Committee Vice-Chairman by Cllr Julia Huffer and seconded by Cllr Alan Sharp.

Cllr Alec Jones was nominated as the Committee Vice-Chairman by Cllr Gareth Wilson and seconded by Cllr Simon Harries.

Upon being put to the vote, it was resolved:

That Cllr Jo Webber be elected as Vice-Chairman of the Licensing Committee for the municipal year 2022/23.

3. LICENSING (STATUTORY) SUB-COMMITTEE

The Chairman drew Members' attention to the proposed appointments for the Licensing (Statutory) Sub-Committee, as detailed in the agenda papers, and stated that the Chairman would be appointed at the first meeting.

It was resolved:

That the following appointments be made to the Licensing (Statutory) Sub-Committee for 2022/23:

Conservative Members (2) and substitutes Cllr Lavinia Edwards Cllr Alan Sharp

Cllr Julia Huffer (substitute) Cllr Jo Webber (substitute)

Liberal Democrat Member (1) and substitute Cllr Alec Jones

Cllr John Trapp (substitute)

4. LICENSING (NON-STATUTORY) SUB-COMMITTEE

The Chairman drew Members' attention to the proposed appointments for the Licensing (Non-Statutory) Sub-Committee, as detailed in the agenda papers, and stated that the Chairman would be appointed at the first meeting.

It was resolved:

That the following appointments be made to the Licensing (Non-Statutory) Sub-Committee for 2022/23:

<u>Conservative Members (3)</u> Cllr Christine Ambrose Smith Cllr Julia Huffer Cllr Alan Sharp

<u>Liberal Democrat Members (2)</u> Cllr Alec Jones Cllr Gareth Wilson

The meeting concluded at 7:23pm.